Novara November 2021

Seminar with Maurizio Volpe

Seminar in Novara 2021

Seminar with exam for the 4th Dan

For the 13.11.2021 the Ki Aikido Kai and the UniKA had invited to a seminar with Maurizio Volpe. Almost thirty participants from northern Italy and also Maria Grazia and Bernhard from Switzerland met in the dojo MEISHINKAN (明心館) in Novara.
Due to Covid, all participants were recorded by name, their body temperature was measured and noted, and the Green Pass was checked for validity. Throughout the building, in the changing rooms and later on the mat, a mask had to be worn constantly. All clothes were stowed in their own sports bags, they were not allowed to hang around openly in the changing room. The slippers with which one goes to the dojo were packed there in plastic bags and stowed on a shelf.
Only at Kenkotaiso the mask was allowed to be loosened a bit. The participants in the Dan exam later could take off their masks. However, the environmental conditions in the training space were favourable. The room of the dojo is very high and a large window was constantly open. This ensured sufficient fresh air and recirculating air and effectively reduced the concentration of any pathogens present.

Kenkotaiso, Ki tests and Tsuzukiwaza 11

Maurizio started with Kenkotaiso and explained some of the movements with the well-known Ki test. In addition, he found volunteers who were happy to help demonstrate the possible mistakes. After that, he worked through a series of Ki tests, as they occur in the exams from JOKYU to OKUDEN.
This was followed by Tsuzukiwaza 11 (Katatedori irimi) from the program of the first Dan. Here, the techniques are carried out partly from the static and partly from the movement. Sometimes the difference between the techniques is not very clear. In particular, the differences between the first technique (irimi) and the third technique (uchiwanage) is interesting and was explained in detail by Maurizio.

Seminar in Novara 2021

Tsuzukiwaza 20 and 7

After a short break of 10 minutes, Maurizio showed three techniques from Tsuzukiwaza 20 (Ryokatadori) and had them practiced accordingly. This Tsuzukiwaza appears in the program of the third Dan.
For those who prepare for the second Dan, he then showed Tsuzukiwaza 7 (Shomenuchi). Here, the first four techniques are performed first all on the right side and then all on the left side. The remaining three techniques are then shown alternately on the right and the left.

Examination for 4th Dan

Seminar in Novara 2021

Towards the end of the training, the exam for the fourth Dan for Francesco was on the program. This exam should have taken place at the beginning of 2020, but then had to be cancelled due to Covid. Since Yoshigasaki Sensei and Gianni Gioconto are no longer with us, Maurizio took over role of the examinator.
Corrado, Matteo and Samuele acted as Uke. Francesco showed in his usual sovereign and precise way all techniques including the Randori and was confirmed at the end by the applause of all Aikidoka on the tatami.

Seminar in Novara 2021

Seminar in Novara 2021

Group photo 1

Some participants are still wearing a mask.

Seminar in Novara 2021

Group photo 2

After the hint that the mask may be taken off briefly, the faces are now easier to recognize. In addition, the person who previously photographed is now also in the photo.

A large part of the participants went out for supper together. The participants from Switzerland immediately set off on the return journey, which ran quite well and without problems and delays, despite darkness, fog in some places and continuous rain.
The next Italian seminar will take place on 20.11.2021 with Francesco and Domenico at Turin, while in Switzerland a seminar will take place from 20.11. to 21.11.2021 at Lucerne.


MEI SHIN KAN (明心館) means "MEI SHIN Practice Hall". The term MEISHIN does not appear in Japanese dictionaries. It is obviously derived from the Chinese work Mingxin baojian (明心宝鉴). This is a collection of aphorisms from Confucianism, Buddhism and Taoism. According to Wikipedia, the collection was compiled around 1393. It was then also translated into the neighboring East Asian languages. A Dominican in the Philippines translated it into Spanish around 1590.
The Kanji 明 (MEI) means dawn, brightness and in Buddhist vocabulary "enlightened wisdom".
We know the Kanji 心 (SHIN) well, it is "heart" in the basic meaning, but is often translated as "spirit" or "mind".
The meaning of MEISHIN can therefore range from the "light-filled heart" to the "enlightened mind/spirit".

Photos and Text: Bernhard

Novara November 2021

Seminar mit Maurizio Volpe

Seminar in Novara 2021

Seminar mit Prüfung zum 4. Dan

Für den 13.11.2021 hatten die Ki Aikido Kai und die UniKA zu einem Seminar mit Maurizio Volpe eingeladen. Fast dreissig Teilnehmer aus Norditalien und auch Maria Grazia und Bernhard aus der Schweiz trafen sich im Dojo MEISHINKAN (明心館) in Novara.
Wegen Covid wurden alle Teilnehmer namentlich erfasst, ihre Körpertemperatur wurde gemessen und notiert und der Green-Pass auf Validität überprüft. Im gesamten Gebäude, in den Umkleiden und später auf der Matte musste ständig eine Maske getragen werden. Alle Kleidungsstücke wurden in den eigenen Sporttaschen verstaut, sie durften nicht offen in der Umkleide herumhängen. Die Schlappen, mit denen man ins Dojo geht, wurden dort in Plastiksäcken verpackt und in einem Regal verstaut.
Lediglich bei Kenkotaiso durfte die Maske etwas gelockert werden. Auch die Beteiligten bei der Dan-Prüfung später durften ihre Masken teilweise abnehmen. Die Umgebungsbedingungen waren allerdings vorteilhaft. Der Raum des Dojos ist sehr hoch und ein grosses Fenster war ständig geöffnet. Dies sorgte für genügend Frischluft und Umluft und minderte effektiv die Konzentration eventuell vorhandener Krankheitserreger.

Kenkotaiso, Ki-Tests und Tsuzukiwaza 11

Maurizio begann mit Kenkotaiso und erklärte einige der Bewegungen mit den bekannten Ki-Test. Dazu fand er Freiwillige, die die möglichen Fehler auch gerne einmal demonstrieren halfen. Danach arbeitete er eine Reihe von Ki-Test durch, wie sie in den Prüfungen von JOKYU bis OKUDEN vorkommen.
Es folgte die Tsuzukiwaza 11 (Katatedori irimi) aus dem Programm des ersten Dan. Hier werden die Techniken teils aus dem Stand und teils aus der Bewegung ausgeführt. Manchmal lässt sich dann der Unterschied zwischen den Techniken nicht mehr so gut erkennen. Insbesondere der Unterschied zwischen der ersten Technik (irimi) und der dritten Technik (uchiwanage) ist interessant und wurde von ihm genau erklärt.

Seminar in Novara 2021

Tsuzukiwaza 20 und 7

Nach einer kurzen Pause von zehn Minuten liess Maurizio aus der Tsuzukiwaza 20 (Ryokatadori) drei Techniken zeigen und liess sie entsprechend üben. Diese Tsuzukiwaza kommt im Programm des dritten Dan vor.
Für die Anwärter zum zweiten Dan zeigte er dann Tsuzukiwaza 7 (Shomenuchi). Hier werden die ersten vier Techniken zuerst alle rechts und dann alle links ausgeführt. Die übrigen drei Techniken werden dann abwechselnd rechts und links gezeigt.

Prüfung zum 4. Dan

Seminar in Novara 2021

Gegen Ende des Trainings stand dann die Prüfung zum vierten Dan für Francesco auf dem Programm, die eigentlich schon Anfang 2020 hätte stattfinden sollen, dann aber wegen Covid hatte ausfallen müssen. Da Yoshigasaki Sensei und Gianni Gioconto nicht mehr unter uns weilen, übernahm Maurizio die Abnahme der Prüfung.
Als Uke standen Corrado, Matteo und Samuele bereit. Francesco zeigte in gewohnt souveräner und präziser Weise alle Techniken einschliesslich des Randori und wurde am Ende vom Beifall aller zuschauenden Aikidoka bestätigt.

Seminar in Novara 2021

Seminar in Novara 2021

Gruppenfoto 1

Einige Teilnehmer tragen noch eine Maske.

Seminar in Novara 2021

Gruppenfoto 2

Nach dem Hinweis, dass die Maske kurz abgesetzt werden darf, sind die Gesichter jetzt besser zu sehen. Ausserdem ist jetzt auch die Person, welche vorher selbst fotografiert hat, auf dem Foto.

Ein Grossteil der Teilnehmer ging abends noch gemeinsam essen. Die Teilnehmer aus der Schweiz machten sich gleich auf die Rückreise, die trotz Dunkelheit, streckenweise Nebel und Dauerregen ohne Probleme und Verzögerungen velief.
Das nächste italienische Seminar findet am 20.11. mit Francesco und Domenico in Turin statt, während in der Schweiz ein Seminar vom 20.11. bis 21.11.2021 in Luzern stattfindet.


MEI SHIN KAN (明心館) bedeutet "MEI SHIN Übungshalle". In japanischen Wörterbüchern kommt der Begriff MEISHIN nicht vor. Er leitet sich offensichtlich vom chinesischen Werk Mingxin baojian (明心宝鉴)ab. Das ist eine Sammlung von Aphorismen aus Konfuzianismus, Buddhismus und Taoismus. Die Sammlung wurde laut Wikipedia um 1393 zusammengestellt. Sie wurde dann auch in die benachbarten ostasiatischen Sprachen übersetzt. Ein Dominikaner auf den Philippinen übersetzte sie um 1590 herum ins Spanische.
Das Kanji 明 (MEI) bedeutet Tagesanbruch, Helligkeit und im buddhistischen Vokabular "erleuchtete Weisheit".
Das Kanji 心 (SHIN)kennen wir gut, es heisst in der Grundbedeutung Herz, wird aber häufig auch mit Geist übersetzt.
Die Bedeutung von MEISHIN kann also vom "lichtvollen Herzen" bis zum "erleuchteten Geist" reichen.

Fotos und Text: Bernhard