Miyamoto Musashi Trilogy

Miyamoto Musashi (宮本武蔵; 1954)

Zoku Miyamoto Musashi: Ichijō-ji no Kettō (続宮本武蔵 一乗寺の決闘; 1955)

Miyamoto Musashi Kanketsuhen: Kettō Ganryū-jima (宮本武蔵完結編 決闘巌流島; 1956)

The three films are based on the historical novel Musashi by the Japanese writer Yoshikawa Eiji (1892-1962). It was first published in the Japanese daily newspaper Asahi Shimbun from 1935 to 1939. The main character is the historical Samurai Miyamoto Musashi. Many of the events mentioned in the novel really took place. Nevertheless, much remains fiction and is very different from the historical person Musashi.

1 Raid

Musashi (still known as Takezō) and his comrade Matahachi had been wounded in the battle and had fled to the lonely house of Oko and her daughter Akemi. After recovery, their paths separate. Matahachi stays with the women. However, the three have to flee because they are threatened by bandits. On the run, they meet bandits again. Matahachi expels the bandits killing one of them.

2 A samurai must follow his vocation

Musashi (still known as Takezō) was imprisoned at the castle for three years and is now purified. His mentor, the priest Takuan, gives him some advice. "The world is vast and boundless. Be staunch!" "Takezo, cut off the past!" "You are now a new man. Reborn."
Musashi still wants to say goodbye to his great love Otsu before he goes on an adventure. In the end, he steals from it and leaves only a carving on the bridge railing: ゆるしてたもれ - yurushite tamore - Forgive me!

3 Bigmouth wins

Musashi is on an adventure. In the meantime, a young squire has joined him. They come to Nara, where a tournament is taking place. The fighting monk Agon finds no more opponents and declares himself the winner. Unfortunately, the boy is a bit pretentious and calls the fighting monk "fat badger". The monk demands an immediate satisfaction. Only by the intervention of a wise monk a tragedy can be avoided.
Noteworthy is the monk's technique of slamming the rod of the lance out of the hands of the two opponents. Tohei Sensei taught a similar technique with Bokken against the Jo (of course only in case someone does not hold the Jo with Ki).

4 Bully and flycatcher

Musashi and his squire have descended in a somewhat run-down hostel. At dinner, they are disturbed by the noise generated by a crowd of gamblers in the foyer. The squire demands a little more silence. This infuriates the gamblers and their local boss, the horse dealer Kumagoro, builds himself up in front of Musashi and demands a written excuse. When he sees Musashi collecting the flies on the rice, on the clothes and in the air with the chopsticks, he is impressed. In the end, he wants to become a student of Musashi.

Movie data

Title: Samurai-Trilogy
Original Title: Miyamoto Musashi
Published: 1954 - 1956
Time: 303 minutes

Staff
Director: Hiroshi Inagaki
Script: Hiroshi Inagaki
Production: Kazuo Takimura
Music: Ikuma Dan

Cast
Toshirō Mifune: Takezō
Rentarō Mikuni: Matahachi
Kuroemon Onoe: Takuan Sōhō
Kaoru Yachigusa: Otsu
Mariko Okada: Akemi

A milestone in Japanese postwar social development.

2009 by foxfirebrand
The importance of the Miyamo Musashi saga has been lost somewhat today, even in Japan. These were not just early high-quality color samurai movies, not just great films. They were a nationwide event, and a milestone in Japanese social evolution. The early 50s were a time of postwar healing, and there were unsettled questions about the national character. The Miyamoto Musashi saga used the past to dramatize issues of morality and, even more important at the time, morale.
Japan had no problem westernizing and living under the rule of law under terms imposed by victors in war. The knotty issue was, how much of the past do we keep alive in our daily thoughts and actions, and just how much of the real Japan, the one we remember, will our children and grandchildren inherit, once the aftermath of global war has subsided? Watch these films with such then-important issues in mind, and your experience will be deepened and enriched.
All three episodes are directed by Hiroshi Inagaki and star Toshiro Mifune as Miyamoto-san, in a performance that is perfection. Miyamoto Musashi shows the young samurai aspirant as a hot-headed, imperfect man, neither hero nor monster. But possessed of a fierce dark force that could impel him toward either outcome. The question of women looms large in this trilogy. How to treat them, what kind of woman to honor and what kind to avoid, and just how the diametrically-opposite traits of women work in the world, whether at odds or in harmony with those of men. All these issues are played out without preachiness, in the actions of real people, well-drawn characters whom we meet and get to know before the episode ends in a series of parting of ways.

Miyamoto Musashi Trilogie

Miyamoto Musashi (宮本武蔵; 1954)

Zoku Miyamoto Musashi: Ichijō-ji no Kettō (続宮本武蔵 一乗寺の決闘; 1955)

Miyamoto Musashi Kanketsuhen: Kettō Ganryū-jima (宮本武蔵完結編 決闘巌流島; 1956)

Die drei Filme basieren auf dem historischen Roman Musashi des japanischen Schriftstellers Yoshikawa Eiji (1892–1962). Er wurde bereits vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg von 1935 bis 1939 als Fortsetzungsroman in der japanischen Tageszeitung Asahi Shimbun veröffentlicht. Hauptperson ist der historische Samurai Miyamoto Musashi. Viele der im Roman erwähnten Ereignisse fanden wirklich statt. Dennoch bleibt ein Grossteil Fiktion und weicht sehr von der historischen Person Musashi ab.

1 Banditen

Musashi (noch unter dem Namen Takezō) und sein Kamerad Matahachi waren in der Schlacht verwundet worden und hatten sich ins einsam gelegene Haus von Oko und deren Tochter Akemi geflüchtet. Nach der Genesung trennen sich ihre Wege. Matahachi bleibt bei den Frauen. Die drei müssen jedoch flüchten, weil sie von Banditen bedroht werden. Auf der Flucht treffen sie wieder auf Banditen. Matahachi tötet einen von ihnen und vertreibt die Banditen.

2 Ein Samurai folgt seiner Berufung

Musashi (noch unter dem Namen Takezō) war drei Jahre auf der Burg gefangen und ist nun geläutert. Sein Mentor, der Priester Takuan, gibt ihm noch Ratschläge. "Die Welt ist weit und grenzenlos. Bleib standhaft!" "Du bist nun ein neuer Mensch." "Takezō, ziehe einen Schlusstrich unter die Vergangenheit!"
Musashi will sich dennoch von seiner grossen Liebe Otsu verabschieden, ehe er auf Abenteuerfahrt geht. Am Ende stiehlt er sich doch davon und hinterlässt nur eine Einritzung auf dem Brückengeländer: ゆるしてたもれ - yurushite tamore - Vergib' mir!

3 Grossmaul gewinnt

Musashi ist auf Abenteuerfahrt. Ihm hat sich unterdessen ein junger Knappe angeschlossen. Sie kommen nach Nara, wo gerade ein Turnier stattfindet. Der Kampfmönch Agon findet keine Gegner mehr und erklärt sich zum Sieger. Leider ist der Knappe ein wenig vorlaut und nennt den Kampfmönch "fetter Dachs". Dieser fordert unverzüglich Genugtuung. Nur durch Intervention eines weisen Mönches lässt sich eine Tragödie vermeiden.
Beachtenswert ist die Technik des Mönches, den beiden Kontrahenten die Stange der Lanze aus den Händen zu schlagen. Eine ähnliche Technik unterrichtete auch Tohei Sensei mit Bokken gegen den Jo (natürlich nur für den Fall, dass jemand den Jo nicht mit Ki hält).

4 Raufbold und Fliegenfänger

Musashi und sein Knappe sind in einer etwas heruntergekommenen Herberge abgestiegen. Beim Abendessen werden sie vom Lärm gestört, den eine Schar von Glücksspielern im Foyer erzeugt. Der Knappe fordert ein wenig mehr Ruhe. Das erbost die Glücksspieler und der lokale Boss, der Pferdehändler Kumagoro, baut sich vor Musashi auf und verlangt eine schriftliche Entschuldigung. Als er sieht wie Musashi die Fliegen auf dem Reis, auf der Kleidung und in der Luft mit den Essstäbchen einsammelt, ist er beeindruckt. Am Ende will er Schüler von Musashi werden.

Filmdaten

Deutscher Titel: Samurai-Trilogie
Originaltitel: Miyamoto Musashi
Erscheinungsjahr: 1954 - 1956
Länge: 303 Minuten

Stab
Regie: Hiroshi Inagaki
Drehbuch: Hiroshi Inagaki,
Produktion: Kazuo Takimura Musik: Ikuma Dan

Besetzung
Toshirō Mifune: Takezo
Rentarō Mikuni: Matahachi
Kuroemon Onoe: Takuan Sōhō
Kaoru Yachigusa: Otsu
Mariko Okada: Akemi

Ein Meilenstein in der gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung Japans nach dem Krieg

Die Bedeutung der Miyamoto Musashi-Saga ist heute selbst in Japan etwas verloren gegangen. Dies waren nicht nur frühe hochwertige Farb-Samurai-Filme, sondern auch grossartige Filme. Sie waren ein landesweites Ereignis und ein Meilenstein in der sozialen Entwicklung Japans. Die frühen 50er Jahre waren eine Zeit der Heilung nach dem verlorenen Krieg, und es gab ungeklärte Fragen zum nationalen Selbstverständnis. Die Miyamoto Musashi-Saga verwendete die Vergangenheit, um Fragen der Moral und, was zu dieser Zeit noch wichtiger war, der Ethik zu dramatisieren.
Japan hatte kein Problem damit, sich zu verwestlichen und unter den von den Siegern auferlegten Bedingungen zu leben. Die knifflige Frage war, wie viel von der Vergangenheit wir in unseren täglichen Gedanken und Handlungen am Leben erhalten und wie viel von dem echten Japan, an das wir uns erinnern, unsere Kinder und Enkel erben werden, sobald die Nachwirkungen des Krieges abgeklungen sind.
Alle drei Folgen werden von Hiroshi Inagaki und dem Star Toshiro Mifune als Miyamoto-san perfekt inszeniert. Miyamoto Musashi war als junger Samurai-Aspirant ein heissköpfiger, unvollkommener Mann, weder Held noch Monster. Aber er besass eine wilde dunkle Macht, die ihn zu beiden Seiten treiben konnte. Die Frage der Frauen spielt in dieser Trilogie eine grosse Rolle. Wie man sie behandelt, welche Art von Frau man ehrt und welche Art man vermeidet und wie die diametral entgegengesetzten Eigenschaften von Frauen auf der Welt wirken, ob im Widerspruch oder im Einklang mit denen von Männern. All diese Themen spielen sich ohne moralisierende Belehrung ab, in den Handlungen von echten Menschen und gut gezeichneten Charakteren.
(nach einem Kommentar von foxfirebrand, 2009)